Baby (and toddler?) brain

Before I had Jude, I was so switched on – I would notice EVERYTHING. I would never forget a face, I could walk down the street and say things like ‘See that person over there? Well, he came into the pub I used to work in once, about 12 years ago or something, and was so drunk he could barely stand up’. I used to remember things. I used to remember pointless, irritating things and annoy everyone around me. I was so alert, nothing could get past me. Being a teacher, the saying ‘eyes in the back of your head’ comes to mind. Well, I taught children who thought I was incredible that I could notice them chewing gum before they set foot in the classroom. Passing notes (or texting) was definitely a no go – nothing could get past me. I noticed things when we were out and about; buildings, slight changes to buildings or skylines. Anyway, you get the idea. 

  
I imagine you’ve all heard of baby brain. A very real ‘condition’ that occurs in the majority of, if not all women during pregnancy, whereby their brain seems to work on fewer cylinders than required. Mummies-to-be are forgetful, muddled and generally find it difficult to function in society. I most definitely suffered from baby brain when I was pregnant, and definitely for a time afterwards, when Jude had arrived too. Well, it seems that my baby brain hasn’t yet completely subsided. I repeat myself on a daily, if not hourly basis (although some would say I have done that for years). I have to write everything remotely important down, otherwise I have absolutely no chance of remembering it. For the first time in my life I use a wall calendar and it is COVERED. I also cross off each day (like in films) as they happen, just so I know what day it is. I think the whole situation is exacerbated by the fact that I’m still on maternity leave, so struggle to remember what day it is, let alone the date! This is helped slightly, by going to classes like singing and swimming, as they occur on the same day each week; but come half term, or a holiday like Christmas or Easter and the confusion occurs all over again! 

This is a subject that I have discussed with Steve on many occasions. He is brilliantly patient with me and for that I am thankful. It is however a subject that I’m interested to know whether it affects any others out there? Does it get better? When can I expect to be as snappy and on form as I used to be once again? Will it improve on my return to work? Or am I doomed to be a slightly ditsy and irritating mummy for all eternity? 

Leave a Reply

