We’ve created a monster

Haha – not really. But my god, he’s a crazy child! The developments are coming thick and fast now; we have a third tooth – which could explain the miserable, snotty child we have had for the last week or so – we also have a crawler! 
 

my first valentines card as a mummy
  

The first crawl happened just before bath time; I was just about to take him upstairs after a good, long ‘nappy off’ session (during which Jude usually spends half an hour or so post-teatime being completely hyper, rolling and virtually leaping around on the towels we put down to soak up the wee). I was standing up, reading a text, literally just before picking Jude up to go upstairs, when a small, wriggly child passed in my eyeline, below my phone-holding-hand. I jumped to attention, quickly popped him back at the ‘beginning’ of his crawl and put the remote for the telly (baby catnip) a metre or so away. Then I turned on the video on my phone. He performed. He performed brilliantly and was met with huge praise and excitement from me.

  
I was actually quite emosh. It was such a big step in his little life – and the beginning of soooo many new things! I didn’t watch the video back, I wanted to save it and stop it from happening – or keep it special, keep it to myself – or ourselves – or, or, I don’t know! I suddenly felt troubled about how to tell/show Steve. I was really sad that he hadn’t seen the ‘first crawl’. Then again, I’d almost missed it! So rather than send him the video to watch in a hurried break during a crazy evening at work, I decided to show him the video when he got home so that we could watch it together and share the joy. Steve returned home in the early hours (he’s a chef) and I woke up which I usually do. We were able to watch the video together and it was a special moment after all…

   

Nevermind

 

I mentioned in the last blog that Jude was to take part (or not) in his Nirvana Nevermind-style underwater photo shoot the following weekend. Here is the story of how I thought I knew best and clearly didn’t. (Although I’m still pretty sure I do/did know best anyway).  

Jude had been poorly the week of the shoot so we didn’t go to his lesson. And when I say poorly I mean, like, really poorly. Fever and all sorts. So we skipped the lesson, but I spoke to the teacher who recommended that we go along to a different lesson later in the week in preparation for the photo. The teacher of that lesson could tell us whether or not Jude was ‘ready’ to do the photo shoot. (I have to be honest, we’ve been dunking (also known as placing them underwater carefully and calmly ‘catching’ them whilst underwater) the babies now for 12 weeks or more – I couldn’t see how a dunking on a Sunday morning would be any different from various dunkings on a Wednesday. But anyway. So. We took him to the Saturday morning lesson and at the end the teacher said that it was ‘up to us’, but she didn’t think we should take Jude to the photo shoot the following day. Aaaanyway, I decided that Jude had only been grouchy in the lesson because he wasn’t used to the teacher, some of the swim styles and the pool generally and by his third dunking he reacted perfectly normally – in fact, the first one was probably only so bad because he hadn’t done one for so long as we’d missed the lesson. Plus, if we didn’t take him now, by the next shoot he’d be nearly 11 months old! That definitely wouldn’t be as cute or amazing……(Getting the idea yet??)

So the next day we took Jude along for his underwater photo shoot at 7 months old. He was in a brilliant mood and was splashing and shrieking excitedly in the pool – perhaps because he was glad to be in a familiar pool. The person in charge took him and he did his first dunk. Both staff members – dunker and photographer – immediately told me there seemed to be something wrong with his shoot – he had gone under and reached straight for his ears. I explained that it could be as he had been quite congested, but they told me they would not do any more dunks. 

He was fine! In fact, we went back to the ‘playing in between photos’ area and he happily splashed and played some more. Then we miserably got out of the pool, got changed and left with ours tails between our legs. 

I was mortified. I ranted and whimpered all the way to Sainsbury’s (where we decided to go as we now had so much spare time that morning) and as we were about to get out of the car, Steve told me to pull myself together. I wailed dramatically, “I can’t” and burst into tears. Whaaaaaat?! What was wrong with me? Why was I so upset?  The only conclusion I have since come to is that I wanted a memory of Jude swimming at 7 months. Not nearly 11 months. But still, a bit of a dramatic overreaction anyway. Plus, he’s GORGEOUS – he’s definitely going to be just as cute at 11 months as he is now! And, I took a photo of us together in the changing room on our first taster session when he was only 4 months old – now that is cute!  

     

 Life without Jude

post-match napping from Wales’ biggest fan
 

Steve made me go out last week. Only for a few hours one evening, but he said that I never go anywhere without Jude or him and I was to go out and do something that I enjoy. So I did. I went to Simple Knots Craft Club – a lovely evening once a month held by a friend where crafters of all shapes and sizes pop along to a lovely little coffee shop (that sells alcohol but I failed to realise this until about 5 minutes before I was due to leave, dammit) and do craft. I LOVE craft. So I took myself along, armed with a small, half made, handmade, jersey octopus that I was halfway through blanket stitching, and had coffee, cake and chats with some strangers. I knew 2 people there; my cousin kindly looked after me and all in all it was a lovely, sociable evening. And I only talked about Jude for half of it. I think. It was really strange to be out without both of the main people in my life. I’ve done it once before when I went for a boozy dinner with one of my best friends, but that was slightly fuzzy, so less obviously without them. This time, it was strange, but fun! And I look forward to the next one – that is, if I fancy it… It’s hard to get yourself to do things without your baby – even though there are MILLIONS of times a week when you think to yourself ‘what I would give for a night – or even an hour – without the baby’! Strange times and new, different lives ey?

    

Movin’ on up

 

Sudocrem-needing, post-crawl session knees
 

It’s been almost 2 weeks since the first crawl. What started as a kind of lolloping, foot-knee-thing, has now turned into a fast knee-knee-hand-hand crawl EVERYWHERE. The new, rapid crawling has also enabled Jude access to new and exciting places in the house and means that he can now climb up EVERYTHING. He can speedily go from one end of the couch, along to the other end, onto the chair and around onto the coffee table in seconds. Steve has even started timing him crawling from the far end of the living room to the kitchen. 33 seconds is the record. So far. We literally can’t turn our backs for a minute.  Oh, and the cats. Poor lovelies, Jude likes to chase them. He managed to corner the most timid one the other day and she actually had to leap past him in order to get upstairs and find refuge. I’ve given them cushions on the dining table that they can use if they wish – far away from grabby, shrieking babies! So far they have both chosen to stay closer to the ground, but we’ll soon see whether that lasts… We’re trying to teach Jude that the best way to deal with the cats is to be gentle, and I think he knows this, but he just hasn’t quite figured out how to make his hands actually be gentle yet. All in good time!

        
You may have noticed that it’s been almost 3 weeks since I was supposed to have written my last blog; this one is almost a week late! I think it’s best if I start to write on a weekly basis again – but shorter blogs. So, all being well, the next blog will be in a weeks time (which it should be anyway), then a week after that and so on and so forth. I may even blog more frequently, about things as they occur instead of going on and on once a week/fortnight. Anyway, the thought’s there! We’ll see what actually happens shall we??

That’s all folks!
Ciao x

One thought on “Front crawl, crawl and crawl

  1. At last!!! I wondered where you’d got to. Are you sure you want to “do” every week? With Jude crawling I’m sure you’ll have enough on your hands. Take the time to enjoy him 100%!

    Like

Leave a Reply

